Directions for the Use of Language

Back in the day, fellow No-Recorder Dave wrote a series of classroom collage poems, taking bits of what professors said and piecing them together into works of academic awesome. Though I can’t hope to approach the heights to which Dave took this form, I think his idea might just be the key to my surviving graduate school. Here goes the first installment.

Directions For the Use of Language

Just add water.

A book is one mechanism of conversion.
You can’t convert on day one.

This war is just,
if you say so in Latin, in a field,
in the middle of the night.

I have seen some crazy stuff.
Figs, a strange sweet meat.
Wilderness like a computer program of God.

Tell me why I’m reading this!
Why don’t you come hither?
I’m nervous. God might destroy England.
You’re reading a different book than you thought.

Leave a Reply

